Site Navigation:


Richard Blythe, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Architecture & Urban Studies

Ph.D., RMIT University
Master of Architecture, Univ. of Melbourne
B.Arch., Tasmanian State Institute of Technology
Bach. of Environmental Design, Tasmanian State Institute of Technology

Richard_Blythe.jpgDr. Richard Blythe is the Dean of the College of Architecture and Urban Studies at Virginia Tech.

Prior to coming to Virginia Tech, Dr. Blythe served as Dean of the School of Architecture and Design at the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT) in Melbourne, Australia. Under his leadership since 2012, the RMIT School of Architecture and Design achieved $6.8 million in funding for multi-university research alliances, including a grant from the Australian government to lead a 15-university Design and Architecture Practice project. He also established the RMIT practice-based research Ph.D. program in Europe and Asia and was primary author and lead researcher for the 2013 Marie Curie Initial Training Network grant ADAPT-r, a collaboration between RMIT and six European universities.

Before becoming Dean at RMIT, Dr. Blythe served for five years as head of the RMIT School of Architecture and Design. He lectured at the University of Tasmania for 14 years, where he was the deputy head of the School of Architecture and the vice chancellor's representative on the Tasmanian government's Building and Construction Industries Council.

A founding director of the architecture firm TERROIR in 1999, Dr. Blythe continues to contribute to the practice. He is also a visiting research professor at Queen's University in Belfast, Ireland.

Dr. Blythe has served in numerous professional leadership roles and garnered many awards. He is an advisory board member for Ashgate Publishing's "Design Research in Architecture" series and a review editor for Routledge. He has served as a member of the Australian Deans of the Built Environment Executive Committee; president of the Society of Architectural Historians Australia and New Zealand; and chair of the Australian Institute of Architects National Education Committee. In 2011, he received a prestigious Velux Professorial Fellowship at Aarhus School of Architecture in Denmark.